Alert: College offices will be closed from 12:30 to 3 p.m. on Friday, September, 22. All classes will be held as scheduled.
Home  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

CCM Board of Trustees Swears in Governor-Appointed Member, Elects Secretary

Jeffrey M. Advokat was Re-Elected as Board Chair in November - Posted 3/13/2013
Jeffrey M. Advokat, Esq. of Denville, chair of the County College of Morris (CCM) Board of Trustees, was sworn in on Wednesday, March 13, following his reappointment to the board earlier this month by New Jersey Governor Chris Christie.

On the same night, Dr. Joseph S. Weisberg of Parsippany received a unanimous vote by board members to become its secretary.

Advokat was elected to his second term as chair at the board’s November 14, 2012, reorganization meeting. He was originally appointed to the board in 2002 filling an unexpired term, and reappointed in 2004 and 2008. He is the senior partner of Advokat & Rosenberg Esqs. in Morristown and a former Morris County assistant prosecutor. He has served on the Executive Board of the Pingry School in Short Hills and has experience in the classroom having taught business law at Caldwell College.

He previously served as vice chair of the CCM board and prior to that appointment served three years as secretary and two years as treasurer. He earned his J.D. from Hofstra University, his master’s fellowship in government from the Eagleton Institute at Rutgers University, and his B.A. in political science from Rutgers.

Weisberg is professor emeritus of geoscience at New Jersey City University and currently serves as a consultant for curriculum and construction projects at the university. Weisberg was appointed to the board in 2011 with more than 45 years of experience in education, including two previous terms as a CCM trustee.

His experience on the state, county and local levels of government includes having served as founding chair of the Morris County Open Space Committee, founding member of the Kiwanis Club of Greater Parsippany, mayor and councilman of Parsippany, chair of the New Jersey Historical Commission and as Budget Advisory Committee chair for the Morris County Board of Chosen Freeholders. He presently serves as the vice president of the Library Board of Trustees in Parsippany, and president of the PAL Board of trustees.

He earned his Ed.D. from Columbia University, his M.A. in science education from Montclair State University and his B.A. in science education from Jersey City State College (New Jersey City University). He is the author of several college texts in the natural sciences including Meteorology: The Earth and Its Weather, Earth Science and Introductory Oceanography as well as numerous articles and encyclopedia references.