Alert: College offices will be closed from 12:30 to 3 p.m. on Friday, September, 22. All classes will be held as scheduled.
Home  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

Morris MUA Presents Awards to CCM Professor and Media Center

Honors Recognize the College’s Commitment to Recycling - Posted 4/21/14
County College of Morris (CCM) Professor Kelly Whalen and the college’s Media Center recently were presented awards at the Morris County Recycling Awards Dinner hosted by the Morris County Municipal Utilities Authority (MCMUA). The 26th Recycling Awards Dinner, titled “Highly Caffeinated Recycling,” was held April 11 at the Hanover Manor. “The Media Center has assisted the MCMUA with the production of a several videos,” said Joe Schilp, associate director of the Media Center. “We record a television program called Focus on Morris County with Joe Garifo, the public information officer for Morris County. Penny Jones and others from the MCMUA have been on numerous times to promote the county’s recycling efforts.” The Media Center received the Marshall McLuhan Recycling Award for its work and dedication in publicizing several programs established by the MCMUA. “The people who work at the CCM Media Center are wonderful,” said Jones, MCMUA recycling education specialist. “We are so grateful for all that they do to promote our programs and recycling awareness.” As CCM’s Learning Resource Center, which houses the Media Center, has undergone a recent renovation, Schilp said he and his team have been very active participants in recycling and reusing materials. The Media Center has sent over a ton of old video and audio cable to be recycled and has repurposed several pieces of furniture and equipment. Whalen was honored with the Hy Nadel Creativity Award for her efforts in coordinating the MCMUA’s annual fashion show in 2011, 2013 and 2014. Whalen’s fashion design class participates in the show that features garment and accessories the students have created from recycled materials. Each year, the MCMUA honors individuals, businesses, educational institutions, civic and religious organizations, as well as municipalities whose actions have contributed to the success of waste prevention, reuse, litter abatement and recycling. Photo <: Joe Schilp (center), associate director of the CCM Media Center, accepts the Marshall McLuhan Recycling Award from Fletcher Platt (l), a member of the Morris County Municipal Utilities Authority Board, and Glenn Schweizer, MCMUA executive director, at the Morris County Recycling Awards Dinner. Photo >: Kelly Whalen receives the Hy Nadel Creativity Award presented by Christopher Dour, chairman of MCMUA. Credit: Pete Byron