Home  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

CCM Gala Raises $70,000 for Scholarships, Programs

Event Held April 27 at the Dolce Hotel and Resort in Basking Ridge, NJ
Dennis Bone, president of Verizon New Jersey, was the recipient of the 2012 County College of Morris Foundation Leadership Award at the foundation’s annual gala, held April 27 at the Dolce Hotel and Resort in Basking Ridge, NJ.

In addition to presenting Bone with the CCM Foundation recognition, the event also recognized four of the college’s alumni and featured musical performances by students in the CCM Performing Arts program. The event was attended by 200 guests and raised $70,000 in net funds for the college’s scholarships and academic programs.

Bone, who is stepping down as Verizon’s president this year, was honored for more than a decade of leadership for New Jersey’s business community as well as his support of the state’s non-profits.

“We were honored to be able to present our Leadership Award to Dennis Bone, who has been a true leader and champion for New Jersey business for many years,” said Joseph Vitale, president of the CCM Foundation. “Knowing that Dennis will be retiring this summer as president of Verizon made this award particularly timely.” Bone, 60, a highly visible presence through his involvement in many business and civic organizations around the state, has headed Verizon's New Jersey operations since 2000.

In addition to Bone, alumni awards went to Dennis Bostedo ’94 of Budd Lake (Alumnus of the Year), vice president for global strategic sourcing for Chubb & Son of Warren, NJ; Laura Ryblewski ’94 of Little Falls (Achievement), assistant dean in the office of academic services at Rutgers-Newark; Dr. Brian Kloss ’02 of Syracuse, NY (Humanitarian), a physician at the Syracuse VA Medical Center; and Donald Sullivan ’99 of Cedar Knolls (Service), retired executive of Sheet Metal Workers Local 25.

The program also included remarks by student scholarship recipient Heather Smith ’12 and performances by music faculty and student cast members from CCM’s spring production of Kismet.

Each year, the CCM Foundation provides more than $200,000 in scholarships for more than 200 students.

Photo: U.S. Congressman Rodney Frelinghuysen (center) with CCM President Dr. Edward Yaw and CCM Board Chairman Jeffrey Advokat (right) at the college’s 2012 Scholarship Gala.