Home  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

County College of Morris Honored with Citizen of the Year Award

Award Presented by The Hope Chest Scholarship Foundation
County College of Morris (CCM) has been chosen by The Hope Chest Scholarship Foundation as the 2012 Citizen of the Year. The award will be presented to Dr. Edward J. Yaw, CCM president, on October 27 at the Ninth Annual Hope Chest Scholarship Foundation Gala.

The Hope Chest Scholarship Foundation is dedicated to providing financial assistance to minority high school graduates in New Jersey pursuing a post-secondary education. While originally focused on students in Morris County, the foundation expanded its efforts in 2000 to provide opportunities to students throughout New Jersey. Founded in 1988, the foundation has awarded more than $500,000 in the last six years alone to students across the state.

“We have had a longstanding relationship with County College of Morris, and they have provided space for The Hope Chest Scholarship Foundation training program,” explained Clyde Jones, co-chair of this year’s gala. The foundation’s Leadership Training and Development program, or LTD, helps scholarship recipients prepare for successful careers in today’s competitive job market. Students must attend three workshops that teach interview techniques, business writing skills, office etiquette and more.

The Citizen of the Year Award is given to organizations, corporations or individuals that hold values consistent with those of The Hope Chest Scholarship Foundation. This year’s award is being given to CCM in recognition of its support of the LTD program and the shared goal of providing affordable higher education for students. For more information on The Hope Chest Scholarship Foundation, visit www.hope-chest.org.