Home  >  News & Events  >  News Details  

County College of Morris Foundation Celebrates Student Scholarship Recipients

Students and Their Families Meet the People Who Support the CCM Scholarship Program
Students, parents, County College of Morris (CCM) Foundation members and contributors gathered together on the evening of Monday, December 3, for a celebratory dinner at the college to recognize the giving that makes scholarships possible.

It was a night that brought together those who have made gifts to the CCM Foundation scholarship fund and the recipients of their generosity.

The CCM Foundation was founded in 1987 to support the college and its students. The foundation handles donations and other funding to support student scholarships, the purchase of specialized equipment and to fund special projects to support student learning.

Speakers at the celebratory dinner included Dr. Edward J. Yaw, president of CCM; Dr. Bette Simmons, vice president of Student Development and Enrollment Management; and Katie Olsen, director of Development.

“We were very pleased to bring together our scholarship recipients with their benefactors at this special event,” said Olsen. “Gifts to support scholarships allow CCM to continue its mission of providing an accessible and affordable, high-quality education for those with the desire to succeed.”

This year, more than 200 CCM students received scholarships made possible by gifts presented to the foundation.

Photo: Dr. Edward J. Yaw, president of CCM, with Chelsee Thompson, the first recipient of the Dr. Edward J. Yaw Scholarship, which was created as part of last year’s celebration marking Dr. Yaw’ s 25th anniversary as president of CCM.