Alert: WebAdvisor will not be available today, Tuesday, August 22, from 4 to 7 p.m.
Home  >  Student Life  >  Campus Services  >  Transfer Services  >  State-wide Transfer Agreement  

State-wide Transfer Agreement

Students who graduate with an associate’s degree from one of New Jersey’s 19 community colleges, and transfer to a public college in New Jersey, are now supported by the State-wide Transfer law. The law ensures that the first two years of college will be counted towards a bachelor’s degree at any public, four year college or university. The purpose of the state-wide transfer agreement is to provide a seamless transition for New Jersey Community College students.
New Jersey State Colleges and Universities:  

The College of New Jersey
Kean University
Montclair State University
New Jersey City University
New Jersey Institute of Technology
Ramapo College of New Jersey
Richard Stockton College of New Jersey
Rowan University
Rutgers University
Thomas Edison State College
University of Medicine and Dentistry
William Paterson University of New Jersey

The state-wide transfer agreement does have rules and regulations, therefore it is important to plan ahead and be as prepared as possible for transfer.

Details of the Comprehensive State-wide Transfer Agreement (Lampitt Bill): 

  • The law applies only to an Associate in Science (A.S.) degree and an Associate in Arts (A.A.) degree. It does not include the Associate in Fine Arts (A.F.A.) or the Associate in Applied Science (A.A.S.).  
  • Students are not guaranteed admissions into any 4 year institutions. Refer to the institution’s admissions office website to review the entrance requirements for transfer students.
  • Under Lampitt, the A.A. transfers into a B.A. and the A.S. transfers to a B.S. Therefore, major to major transfer works best.
  • Generally, the 60-64 credits earned at CCM (completion of associates) is the equivalent of half of the credits required for the 4 year degree.

Click here to view the Comprehensive State-wide Agreement