Presentation Part of Fundraising Gala on May 6 at the Sheraton Parsippany Hotel – Posted 4/11/16

The County College of Morris (CCM) Foundation will honor Dr. Edward J. Yaw, who is retiring in August after 30 years as president, with its 2016 Leadership Award. The presentation will be part of the foundation’s fundraising gala, to be held on Friday, May 6, at the Sheraton Parsippany Hotel.

The award, established in 2010, honors an individual, corporation or organization that has supported CCM and has contributed to improving the quality of life in Morris County.

“This is an opportunity to acknowledge and thank Dr. Yaw for the impact he has had – not only on CCM – but on Morris County for the past three decades,” said William McElroy, chairman of the college’s foundation. “He has been an admired leader of our state’s higher education community and his inspired stewardship has helped to build CCM into the outstanding institution it is today. He has also been a true friend and supporter of the foundation and instrumental in our fundraising efforts through the years.”

Yaw, currently the longest-serving community college president in New Jersey, joined CCM in 1980 and became president in 1986. In his more than three decades of service, he has been elected to various professional and educational councils, including serving as chair of the New Jersey Presidents’ Council and was a member of the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education. He has led accreditation-evaluation teams on behalf of the Commission on Higher Education of the Middle States Association. Yaw earned his Ed.D. from Columbia University, his M.S. from Southern Illinois University, and his B.A. from Harpur College, SUNY Binghamton. Prior to his appointment as CCM’s president, he held the position of dean of Academic Affairs. Active in community affairs, he serves on the boards of the Morris County Chamber of Commerce, Morris County Human Relations Commission, the Urban League of Morris County and the Morris-Sussex-Warren Counties Workforce Investment Board.

In addition to honoring Yaw, the foundation will honor four graduates with its annual Alumni Awards: Michael D. Klinger ’03, of Jersey City, an associate in the capital markets group of Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft LLP (Alumnus of the Year); Holly M. Lusardi ’07, of Parsippany, a software designer for the Department of Defense at Picatinny Arsenal (Alumni Achievement); Maria N. DeAngelis ’09, of Cedar Knolls, a teacher of special education mathematics at Bogota High School (Alumni Service); and Matthew W. Roche ’03, of Green Village, a post-doctorate fellow in the division of schizophrenia research at Rutgers University (Alumni Humanitarian).

The event’s honorary chair is Paul Boudreau, president of the Morris County Chamber of Commerce. In addition to music by Big City Swing, CCM’s performing arts students will be presenting selections from the college’s spring musical, “The Pajama Game.” An extensive silent auction, including Broadway theater tickets, vacation packages and collectibles, will also be offered to attendees.

Corporate tables, sponsorships, ads in the dinner journal and individual tickets are available by calling 973-328-5060 or visiting

# # #

Photo: Dr. Edward J. Yaw, CCM president. Photo by Farlekas Photography.