Dr. Edward J. Yaw Joins Group of Distinguished Community Volunteers – Posted 12/22/16

Dr. Edward J. Yaw of Convent Station, who retired as president of County College of Morris (CCM) earlier this year, recently was elected to serve on the Board of Trustees of The Shakespeare Theatre of New Jersey.

Yaw was elected, along with Edward C. Leithead, III of Chatham, to join the board of 22 distinguished community volunteers as trustees of the theatre group.

Under the leadership of board President Thomas Keffer and Honorary Chairman Thomas H. Kean, the trustees provide oversight and resources for the theatre’s finances, operations and executive staff and enhance the institution’s services and public standing.

A highly respected supporter of the arts, Yaw retired as president of CCM at the end of August after serving 30 years in that leadership role. He was appointed to the position of President Emeritus of CCM effective September 2016.

Yaw was named the second president of the college in 1986, following the retirement of CCM’s first president, Dr. Sherman H. Masten. He first joined CCM in 1980 as Dean of Academic Affairs. Prior to that, he served as Associate Dean of Academic Affairs at Adelphi University in New York.

Yaw is widely respected by his peers and has been elected to serve on various professional and educational councils working with state officials. He also serves on the boards of the Morris County Chamber of Commerce, Morris County Human Relations Commission, the Urban League of Morris County and the Morris-Sussex-Warren Counties Workforce Investment Board.

“Both Ed Leithead and Ed Yaw bring to our board tremendous enthusiasm for the theatre and its mission,” stated Keffer. “In addition, we will benefit from Dr. Yaw’s long history as an education leader, and Ed Leithead’s expertise in corporate management and financial matters.”