County College of Morris President Anthony J. Iacono, Trustee Joseph Weisberg, and Trustee Chair Paul R. Licitra.

On Friday, Nov. 16, as part of the Vision 2028 Leadership Summit, the New Jersey Council of County Colleges presented the Ronald D. Winthers Trustee Leadership Award to County College of Morris Trustee Joseph Weisberg, Ed.D.

The award is named after long-time Rowan College at Burlington County Trustee Ronald D. Winthers, who served the college for over 25 years and served on the national board of the Association of Community College Trustees and as chairman of the NJCCC. It is awarded to long-time trustees who have made outstanding contributions to their community colleges.

Weisberg, of Parsippany, has served on the CCM Board of Trustees for 25 years and has made significant contributions both within the institution and throughout the region at large. The longevity of being on the Board of Trustees has allowed him to serve on practically all of the Board’s committees at one point.

The most notable special committees that he been a member of are the Personnel Committee and the Lands and Buildings Committee. Weisberg is also on the Organization, Bylaws and Nomination Committee where he helped draft and approve the CCM Statement of Trustee Responsibility and helped to develop the trustee self-evaluation tool currently in use.

The award, a glass acorn atop a metal base, was designed and created through a partnership between Salem Community College and Camden County College. Salem Community College has one of the most innovative glass programs in the country and Camden County College has been a leader in New Jersey in training and educating students to work in the metal fabrication and advanced manufacturing industries. The award embodies the commitment of New Jersey’s community colleges to creativity, knowledge, innovation, and collaboration.

The New Jersey Council of County Colleges is the state association representing New Jersey’s 19 community colleges. As an independent, trustee-headed organization that joins the leadership of trustees and presidents, the Council is a resource that strengthens and supports the state’s 19 community colleges.