Angelique Onorati Recognized for Her Educational Achievements and Leadership Skills – posted 3/19/15

Angelique Onorati, of Mendham, a student at County College of Morris (CCM), has been named a 2015 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Bronze Scholar. The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver and 50 Bronze Scholars. Each Bronze Scholar receives a $1,000 scholarship and a special medallion.

Coca-Cola Bronze Scholars were selected based on scores the students earned in the All-USA Community College Academic Team competition, for which more than 1,700 applications were received this year.

The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society administers the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Program and recognizes Coca-Cola Community College scholars during All-State Community College Academic Team Recognition ceremonies held in 38 states. Student scholars also receive recognition locally during ceremonies held on campus and internationally for those who are able to attend Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention.

A biology major at CCM and president of the college’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter, Onorati last year was inducted into the Phi Theta Kappa Middle States Region Hall of Honor.

Community college presidents or their designated nominators may submit no more than two nominations per campus for this award. An independent panel of judges considers outstanding academic rigor, grade point average, academic and leadership awards, and engagement in college and community service in the selection process.

“We’re very proud Angelique has been selected for this honor,” said Dr. Edward J. Yaw, president of CCM. “Her academic achievements and leadership skills are outstanding and most worthy of recognition. She also follows in the footsteps of other recent CCM students who were recognized for their achievements by the All-USA Community College Academic Team.”

In 2013, two CCM students, Sean Moore and Chaz Weiner, were presented with All-USA Academic Team certificates and appointed to the New Jersey All-State Academic Team.

In 2011, David Seale was selected as a member of the prestigious All-USA Community College Academic Team.

“We thank the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation for their vote of confidence in community college students by investing in their futures,” said Dr. Rod Risley, executive director of Phi Theta Kappa. “Their support is especially welcome during this challenging economic climate, as more and more community college students need additional resources to help them complete their degrees.”

“The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said J. Mark Davis, president of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa and make it possible for deserving students to achieve their educational goals.”

The Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions.

Photo Credit: Rick Burchfield