First Communication Students Sworn into CCM’s Sigma Chi Eta Chapter – Posted 4/29/15

Twelve County College of Morris (CCM) students recently became the first to be inducted into the college’s new chapter of the National Communication Association’s community college honor society, Sigma Chi Eta.

Stephanie Brady, of Long Valley; Krystina Cuozzo, of Landing; Tamara Curovic, of Morristown; Marina Distasi-Gray, of Kinnelon; Julia Filiberti, of Randolph; Alina Gilman, of Mount Arlington; Abigail Lengyel, of Wharton; Sandra Riano, of Dover; Victoria Saavedra, of Morristown; Luisa Salzar, of Randolph; Eva Stepanova, of Hackettstown; and Tayah Swedlund, of Mendham, were each welcomed into Sigma Chi Eta for displaying excellence in their study of communication.

Sigma Chi Eta aspires to foster growth in the communication discipline among community colleges by rewarding students who demonstrate academic excellence and by encouraging professional development. Once inducted, a student is a member for life.

“I’ve found that because the communication discipline is so broad, students are able to take the major in so many different directions,” says Gilman, president of the Sigma Chi Eta chapter at CCM. “Sigma Chi Eta gives smart, dedicated communication students an outlet to speak with other interested students, promote communication related events on campus and prepare themselves for a career in the communication field.”

Members of Sigma Chi Eta must meet the requirement of 12 credit hours at their current or transfer institution, possess a minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA, have taken nine credit hours in communication studies with a minimum 3.25 GPA in those courses and must be deemed in good standing at their college.

“It’s exciting to have an honor society like Sigma Chi Eta because I believe that it will shine a positive light on the great faculty, staff and students of the Communication department,” says Salazar, vice president of the CCM Sigma Chi Eta chapter. “I’ve met many ambitious communication students who I know will contribute to the department and help other students in this major as leaders or members of Sigma Chi Eta.”

The Communication department at CCM was established in 2013. Previously, it was a program within the English department. The Communication department, which now enrolls more than 300 students, provides a sound foundation in effective communication in the areas of journalism, public relations, media production and interpersonal communication.

“Communication is the chosen discipline of future leaders, and our recent Sigma Chi Eta charter is evidence of our commitment to excellence and the tremendous talent of our students here at CCM,” says Dr. Matthew T. Jones, chair of the Communication department at CCM.

To learn more about the Communication department, visit

Photo: (l-r) Sigma Chi Eta officers Tayah Swedlund, secretary; Alina Gilman, president; Luisa Salazar, vice president; and Julia Filiberti, treasurer, at the honor society’s recent induction ceremony at CCM.