Police and model

Photos Selected from More than 750 Submissions Statewide – Posted 5/16/17

Photo Contest Winner - Woman by Tree


The Photo Club at County College of Morris (CCM) recently announced the winners of its fifth annual photography contest for New Jersey high school students. This year’s sponsor, Millburn Camera ASAP Photo, provided first-, second- and third-prize gift certificates.

Winning First Place with a $300 gift certificate was Clara Fischer from North Hunterdon High School. Anthony Carbonaro from Pompton Lakes High School took Second Place with a $150 gift certificate. And Third Place with a $75 gift certificate went to Emma Nicole Mykowski from Parsippany Hills High School.

Receiving Honorable Mentions were Nora Anton from Randolph High School, Mitchell Coyle from Sparta High School, Evan Kelly from Pompton Lakes High School, and Devon Turner and Peter Wezyk from Bridgewater Raritan High School.

Emma Nicole Mykowski from Parsippany Hills High School won the Popularity Award, which was presented for the photo that received the most likes on the competition’s Facebook page.

The contest was open to all New Jersey high school students. This year’s theme was “Contemporary Family.”

The winners were announced at an exhibition and reception held at the CCM Art and Design Gallery. Photo Club members served as judges for the event. Of the more than 750 submissions received from dozens of high schools around the state, 54 were selected for the exhibition. High schools featured in the exhibition included Bridgewater-Raritan High School, Columbia High School, Morris Knolls High School, Mountain Lakes High School, Newark Academy, Pompton Lakes High School, Roxbury High School, Sparta High School, Randolph High School, Westfield High School, West Milford High School, North Hunterdon High School, Parsippany Hills High School and Windsor Prep High School.

“The quality of the work was overwhelming, and the members of the CCM Photo Club had an extremely hard time selecting the finalists,” said Hrvoje Slovenc, assistant professor of photography, who helps to oversee the contest.

Photos: First Place – Clara Fischer, Second Place – Anthony Carbonaro, Third Place – Emma Nicole Mykowski